when i lived in las vegas in 1971-1972, not as a hooker

hello this is madam Vanessa, las vegas talk of the town 1970’s,

I remembered this week from always writing that a parcel of land in 1972 or an acre on the las vegas strip could be purchased for 4000.oo and you needed to have  the mineral rights to this land sale otherwise you were screwed with this expensive purchase. also at this time I was told it was wise to invest in commodities , like coffee and sugar, oh well I never made enough money as a prostitute to invest in these things.

I start unlv in 1971 as a psychology major and live in our only dorm Tonopah hall, our 6th floor is our only women’s floor. we have  phonebooths to call home on the sixth floor.

our dorm mess hall is our unlv book store now and I really did ask our special collections libraby for a photo of the dorm mess hall in the 1970’s and this was in 1998  I was our special libraby in February of 1998, till july then researching  our las vegas history in the 1970’s , all my hangouts and my life then to start writing for over 6 months, that I shared with  all of you on my 18 months on my madam Vanessa radio show, my radio show was cancelled due the station was sold and I guess wanted a  different format of music and sports, is what I was told and when my show got cancelled, I  had just celebrated and remembering my 30 years  of living in las vegas, which would be special to me  and I am downtown, remembering our old city  hall and being photographed there with our lovely young people at zappos,  yes I was at our city hall in march of 1985 on the first floor, re-meeting someone I had not seen since 1973, which was always special to me, that day and that person also.

let’s go back to my dorm life, the first year I had a roommate named Sharon benson and in 1972 she married her boyfriend bill, I would see Sharon in 1985 at a clothing store,but I was too far to catch up with her, I also met another woman from the dorm , her name was Margaret and  I re met her in 1985, and I was so excited to see Margaret, I misplaced her phone number,

but my special friendship is with buff tstoris, I believe that is her last name and buff and I go to unlv with my friend in city hall to take social work classes together and like I wrote before it was about 1988 that  I found unlv assoc alumni, to help me find  my friend buff , who graduated unlv with her master’s in social work in 1973, like my friend at city hall and I called our unlv alumni assoc ,so many times  thru our many decades in las vegas and they never helped me ever and it is sad to me as I write my memories that I could re-meet my friend buff.

when I live in our dorm, I wanted to get a job close to school, so I met with our very sweet woman mrs, morris on our second floor of the moyer student union,  our student job placement counselor and when I ask people who went to unlv ,then no knows who was mrs morris. oh well.

maybe this is the reason, when I am unlv campus is   just to visit our libraby at special collections libraby at our lied libraby, to write, laugh and research and remember how special unlv is to me always.

I will share with all of you my dorm life before as I say now everyone gonna call me Vanessa and I  am an 18 yearold hooker , living in lasvegasnv and thinking this life is so glamorous and exciting with the money and all the  nice  people , I met in our formal 1970’s las vegas and one day as  young woman as a prostitute, I would realize the life of a callgirl at a young age would take my special dream of getting a bachelor’s degree in psychology at unlv and  I could never ever get this special dream, which is like a lost memory to me always.

this is madamvanessa, signing off today

One thought on “when i lived in las vegas in 1971-1972, not as a hooker

Leave a Reply

